Egg Collection Day

Well we got the phone call telling us to come in for egg collection at 3pm. I’ve booked the whole day off work as I didn’t know when we would be called and thought I could relax anyway.

The thing I’ve noticed is that couples at the clinic are embarrassed. I walk into the waiting room and am delighted that we are at this stage (if not slight shitting my pants) and there are 2 couples. I smiled at them both in a ‘we are all in the same boat good luck’ sort of way. They just look at me and then turn away. Which puts a bit of a dampner on today’s process. However, this is not the first time that it has happened to me.

What strikes me is that we are all in the same predicament, there is nothing embarrassing about it, thousands of people are experiencing it and we are fortunate to be at this world famous clinic.

Anyway I’ll get off my soap box. I was told yesterday that the embryologist’s don’t check the eggs on the 4th day so as far as she know we still have 7 embryos. Our name is called and we are asked to go down to the theatre. It’s all very hurried and we are asked to perch on a little stool. The embryologist comes out to us and tells us that only 1 of our eggs has reached blastocyst so that’s all they will be putting back in. Gut wrenching, I was sure we would have at least 2  to put back in. No time to really digest that as I’m been hurried to strip my bottom half off and get onto the stirrups chair.

John has a bit of a freak out and says he’ll wait outside as those rooms freak him out. I want to get up and drag him back to hold my hand but he’s gone. I’m quite annoyed as I think he’s being selfish considering all the bloody time I spent next to his bedside. Hey ho I’ve got bigger fish to fry and to focus on this little egg getting in and growing.

The ET is pretty non-eventful as you barely feel it and it’s over in a matter of minutes. However I have been walking around like John Wayne since, which is ridiculous but that’s me 🙂

5 thoughts on “Egg Collection Day

Leave a comment